Home » Abraham-Inspired Articles

The Abraham-Hicks Emotional Scale

Ask & It Is Given - Abraham-Hicks

Learn more about Abraham’s emotional scale and how to use it in their best-selling book, Ask and It Is Given.

The emotional scale is a tool introduced by Abraham-Hicks in Abraham’s book Ask and It Is Given. It helps you to more effectively use your emotional guidance system. The emotions at the top of the scale are those we experience when fully connected with our Inner Being/Source energy/in the vortex (or however you want to put it). The emotions at the bottom are the worst-feeling, and represent a relative disconnection from our Source (not a complete disconnection – Abraham point out that this can’t happen – but a large degree of ‘cutting off’). And those in the middle represent greater or lesser degrees of connection.

The Emotional Scale – List Of Emotions

1. Joy/Knowledge/Empowerment/Freedom/Love/Appreciation
2. Passion
3. Enthusiasm/Eagerness/Happiness
4. Positive Expectation/Belief
5. Optimism
6. Hopefulness
7. Contentment
8. Boredom
9. Pessimism
10. Frustration/Irritation/Impatience
11. ‘Overwhelment’
12. Disappointment
13. Doubt
14. Worry
15. Blame
16. Discouragement
17. Anger
18. Revenge
19. Hatred/Rage
20. Jealousy
21. Insecurity/Guilt/Unworthiness
22. Fear/Grief/Depression/Despair/Powerlessness

Using Abraham’s Emotional Guidance Scale

The key thing that I got from the emotional scale is that trying to make an emotional ‘quantum leap’ doesn’t work – or is at least not sustainable. A lot of people learn about the importance of feeling good and focusing positively, and then beat themselves up because they have negative emotions, or can’t begin feeling great right away.

go signBut this kind of self-recrimination is misplaced – all you ever need to do is simply reach for a slightly better feeling place; the next step or two up the scale, in other words. That might mean going from unworthiness to rage – you still feel bad, but it’s a step up the scale, and it’s much more doable than going from unworthiness to joy. And then after stabilising at rage for a bit, take the next step up to revenge, and so on. In this way, you gradually change your vibration, and the change will be a longer lasting one than if you try to leap all the way up the scale at once.

This doesn’t mean that once you work your way to the top area of the scale on a given subject, that you’ll never feel negative emotion about it again. But it’s likely that your dip will be a short-lived one, since it’s easier to move back to a better-feeling place when that’s been your default vibration for a while.

Abraham have said more recently that when you get to the feeling of hope, the vortex will take you in, so it becomes easier and easier to feel better.

What If You Can’t Identify Where You Are?

One thing I’ve noticed is that sometimes I can’t precisely identify what I’m feeling. This doesn’t matter – the scale is just a tool, and not something you have to fit yourself in to if doing so feels like a struggle. In fact, Abraham have said in a number of recordings (I don’t have a quote handy right now) that there are really only two emotions – one feels good and one bad, and when you’re feeling bad, all you ever need to do is reach for a feeling of relief.

So if you’re not sure where you are on the scale, just reach for a better-feeling thought. So long as you’re going in the direction of relief, you’re moving up the scale anyway.

To learn more about the emotional scale (as well as many processes that are designed to help you move up the scale from various emotional starting points), I recommend Abraham’s book Ask and It Is Given: Learning to Manifest Your Desires. Examples of how people might find progressively better feeling thoughts on a wide range of common issues are given in their later book The Astonishing Power of Emotions: Let Your Feelings Be Your Guide.

Related posts:

  1. Review – The Amazing Power Of Deliberate Intent by Abraham-Hicks
  2. Abraham-Hicks Products
  3. Abraham-Hicks Book Reviews
  4. Review – A New Beginning I: Handbook for Joyous Survival By Abraham-Hicks
  5. Review – Sara: Book 1 by Abraham-Hicks
  6. Review – Sara: Book 2 by Abraham-Hicks
  7. Review – Ask and it is Given: Learning to Manifest Your Desires by Abraham-Hicks
Share |

Tags: ,